KNOX COMMON COUNCIL JANUARY 10, 2023

The Common Council of the City of Knox met in regular session Tuesday, January 10, 2023, in the City Hall at 6:00 P.M. CST with the following members present: Mayor Dennis Estok; Clerk-Treasurer Cyndi Kidder; Council Members Jeff Berg, Bill Gustafson, Sherry Cowen, Ron Parker, Donald Kring and City Attorney Autumn Ferch. There is no amendment to the agenda.

RE: APPROVAL OF MINUTES REGULAR MEETING 12/27/22

Copies of the previous minutes were mailed to the Council prior to the meeting for their review. Council Member Jeff Berg made a motion to approve minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Don Kring and passed by a vote of Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

RE: ELECTION OF 2023 COUNCIL PRESIDENT PRO TEMP

Sherry Cowen nominated Jeff Berg for 2023 Council President Pro Temp. There were no other nominations. All in favor Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

RE: COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS 2023

No appointment was made to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Ron Parker nominated Jeff Berg and Nathan Bradley to the Redevelopment Commission for another term. The nomination was seconded by Sherry Cowen and all in favor, Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

Don Kring nominated Sherry Cowen to the Plan Commission and Jeff Berg nominated Don Kring and Ron Parker also to the Plan Commission. All in favor, Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

Bill Gustafson nominated Sherry Cowen to the Starke County Economic Development Foundation. All in favor, Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

Jeff Berg nominated Bill Gustafson to the Starke County Solid Waste. All in favor, Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

RE: MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

2023 MAYORAL APPPOINTMENTS YEARLY APPOINTMENTS:

CITY ATTORNEY – AUTUMN FERCH
POLICE CHIEF – HAROLD SMITH
DEPUTY CHIEF (PD) – KENNY PFOST
STREET DEPT. – JEFF BORG
WATER SUPT. – TIM LINDEWALD
WASTEWATER SUPT. – JASON CLEMONS
DIRECTOR OF PARKS & RECREATION – KARL SWIHART
FIRE CHIEF – KENNY PFOST
DIRECTOR OF BUILDING AND CODE COMPLIANCE – VACANT
PLANNING ADMINISTRATOR NOMINATION – VACANT
STARKE COUNTY BEVERAGE BOARD – BILL GUSTAFSON
KIRPC – SHERRY COWEN
KNOX REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

- MARCIA HAYES
- MARSHA BOGGS
- MIKE ESTOK

BOARD OF WORKS

- STEVE DODGE
- JIM COLLINS

FOUR YEAR TERMS: PLAN COMMISSION

DAVID METZ APPOINTED TO FILL REMAINING TERM OF DAN ALLEN, TERM ENDING 12/31/24

BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS

DARLENE DULIN – REAPPOINTED

PARK BOARD

LORA ESTOK - REAPPOINTED

RE: CLERK-TREASURER'S REPORT

Clerk-Treasurer Cyndi Kidder handed out the nepotism, contracting policy and conflict of interest paperwork for 2023. These are for the elected officials to sign. She also informed the Council that out standing checks of 2020 were voided and receipted back in.

RE: MAYOR'S REPORT

The lease of the Sabre property to Kruz will be done this week. The lease is for 6 years with the option to purchase during the 6^{th} year. The funds will be deposited into regular TIFF/RDC for various projects in the future.

RE: VOUCHERS AND ALLOWANCES

The following properly filed vouchers (See Voucher Docket, APV #333742 - #33804) were presented and approved. There being no further business to come before the Council at this time the meeting upon motion was duly adjourned.

	Dennis Estok, Mayor	
Attest:		
Cyndi Kidder, Clerk-Treasurer		