The Common Council of the City of Knox met in regular session Tuesday, January 14, 2025, in the Nancy J. Dembowski Community Center at 6:00 P.M. CST with the following members present: Mayor Dennis Estok; Clerk-Treasurer Cyndi Kidder; Council Members Jeff Berg, Bill Gustafson, Don Kring, Sherry Cowen, Jaime Gruszczynski and City Attorney Justin Schramm.

There were no amendments.

RE: APPROVAL OF MINUTES REGULAR MEETING 12/10/24

Copies of the previous minutes were mailed to the Council prior to the meeting for their review. Sherry Cowen made a motion to approve minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Jeff Berg and passed by a vote of Five (5) ayes and No (0) nays.

RE: ELECTION OF 2025 COUNCIL PRESIDENT PRO-TEMP

Sherry Cowen nominated Jeff Berg for the 2025 Council President Pro-Temp. No other nominations were made. All in favor.

RE: COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS

Redevelopment Commission (2) Sherry Cowen nominated Jeff Berg for the Redevelopment Commission. All in favor. Jeff Berg nominated Mary Perren for the Redevelopment Commission. All in favor.

Plan Commission (3) Jeff Berg and Sherry Cowen committed to another year on the commission. Sherry Cowen nominated Jamie Gruszczynski for the Plan Commission. All in favor.

BZA (1) Jeff Berg nominated Shannon Hoekman for the BZA. All in favor.

Starke County Economic Development Foundation (1) Jeff Berg chose to continue his appointment. All in favor.

Starke County Solid Waste (1) Jeff Berg nominated Bill Gustafson for Starke County Solid Waste. All in favor.

Mayoral Appointments:

2025 MAYORAL APPPOINTMENTS - FINAL

YEARLY APPOINTMENTS:

CITY ATTORNEY – JUSTIN SCHRAMM POLICE CHIEF – CHAD DULIN DEPUTY CHIEF (PD) – KENNY PFOST STREET DEPT. – JEFF BORG WATER SUPT. – TIM LINDEWALD WASTEWATER SUPT. – JASON CLEMONS DIRECTOR OF RECREATION – DENNIS FORNELLI PARK SUPERINTENDENT NOMINATION – BOBBY TRUSTY

FIRE CHIEF – KENNY PFOST DIRECTOR OF BUILDING AND CODE COMPLIANCE – LONNIE BOLEY PLANNING ADMINISTRATOR NOMINATION – LONNIE BOLEY STARKE COUNTY BEVERAGE BOARD – BILL GUSTAFSON

KIRPC – VACANT

KNOX REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

- MARCIA HAYES
- MARSHA BOGGS
- MIKE ESTOK

BOARD OF WORKS

- STEVE DODGE
- JIM COLLINS

FOUR YEAR TERMS:

PLAN COMMISSION DAVID METZ (RE-APPOINTENT) JEFF HOUSTON (RE-APPOINTMENT)	TERM ENDING 12/31/24 NEW TERM ENDS 12/31/28 TERM ENDING 12/31/24 NEW TERM ENDS 12/31/28
BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS JEFF HOUSTON – (REAPPOINTMENT)	TERM ENDING 12/31/24 NEW TERM ENDS 12/31/28
PARK BOARD GLENN BARNES (REAPPOINTMENT)	TERM ENDING 12/31/24NEW TERM ENDS 12/31/28

RE: CLERK-TREASUER REPORT

Clerk-Treasurer Cyndi Kidder informed the Council that the old outstanding checks from 2022 are no longer valid as of December 31, 2024. They will be voided and the amount of \$1,664.54 will be receipted back into the appropriate funds. Clerk-Treasurer Kidder passed out the Nepotism Policy and the Contracting Policy paperwork to all elected officials for their signatures. She also handed out the 2024 updates for everyone's 2024 Indiana Elected Municipal Officials Handbook.

RE: MAYORS REPORT

- 1. Update on City Hall-waiting on flooring guys. Thanks to Tim, Jason and Justin for their help switching out all the light switches and plugs.
- 2. "Movies in the Park" starting in June after school is out. We are looking for sponsors. It's \$300.00 to sponsor a movie.

RE: VOUCHERS AND ALLOWANCES

The following properly filed vouchers (See Voucher Docket, APV #37305 - #37383) were presented and approved. There being no further business to come before the Council at this time the meeting upon motion was duly adjourned.

Dennis Estok, Mayor

Attest: _

Cyndi Kidder, Clerk-Treasurer